45 pc votes cast in phase II elections till 1 pm

in Latest by

Sponsored Link:


Voters stand in queue to cast their ballot in the second phase of provincial and parliamentary elections in Bouddha Multiple Campus in Kathmandu Constituency-3 , on Thursday, December 7, 2017. Photo: Rajesh Gurung

KATHMANDU: Around 45 per cent votes have been cast across 15,344 polling centres in 45 districts under the second phase of provincial and parliamentary elections, said Chief Election Commissioner Ayodhee Prasad Yadav.

The voting process is going on smoothly. Voters are exercising their franchise enthusiastically, he said while monitoring the polling centres in Kathmandu.

“Voting is underway with festive mood and dependable security. People are casting their ballot in fearless manner,” added Yadav.

Polling was disrupted in one booth of Syangja and Arghakhachi each due to disputes between the polling agents of different political parties.  All parties meetings are underway in these places to find a solution and resume the polling.

Cadres of Rastriya Janata Party Nepal and the Nepali Congress clashed in one of the polling centre in Fulparasi booth of  Kaudena Rual Municipality, Sarlahi over who should accompany an elder citizen to the polling booth. One woman was injured in the clash, according to police. Meanwhile two persons were injured in Balkot, Bhaktapur after cadres of the NC and the CPN-UML clashed, police said.

The voting that started at 7:00 this morning would continue till 5:00 pm today.

As many as  7,752 polling centres for the second phase of elections. A total of 155,000 employees have been deployed on poll duty.

As many as 1,663 candidates are contesting in the second phase of parliamentary FPTP elections and 2,819 candidates are in the fray for provincial FPTP elections.

As many as 5,848 contenders are in the fray for 110 parliamentary PR seats and 220 provincial PR seats. Altogether 12,235,993 voters can exercise their voting rights.

The 45 districts that go to polls include Ilam, Tehrathum, Dhankuta, Udayapur, Jhapa, Morang and Sunsari in Province 1; Saptari, Siraha, Dhanusha, Mahottari, Sarlahi, Bara, Parsa and Rautahat in Province 2; Sindhuli, Makawanpur, Chitwan, Kavrepalanchowk, Kathmandu, Lalitpur and Bhaktapur in Province 3; Tanahun, Kaski, Syangja, Parbat, and (east of Bardaghat Susta) Nawalparasi in Province 4; Palpa, Arghakhanchi, Gulmi, Rupandehi, Kapilvastu, Dang Pyuthan, Banke, Bardiya, (west of Bardaghat Susta) Nawalparasi of Province 5; Salyan, Surkhet, and Dailekh of Province-6 and Kailali, Kanchanpur, Dadeldhura, Achham and Doti of Province 7.

The first phase of provincial and parliamentary elections was held on November 26.

Follow The Himalayan Times on

Sponsored Link:

Source: The Himalayan Times